The iPad mini is Still My Favorite iPad

“Fun Size” is the right size.

Joshua Beck
9 min readMar 10, 2021

Over the last year, I’ve tried basically every iPad currently available, from the 12.9-inch iPad Pro to the latest iPad Air, and I’ve finally figured out which one I like the best. And you’ll never guess which one it is.

Ok, you will, because I said it in the title. It’s the iPad mini. Yeah, the tiny one. The outdated one. But dammit… I still love it.

Allow me to explain.

As I tried the various sizes of iPad, I started thinking about what I wanted out of my tablet. Did I want it to replace my laptop? Or did I want it to be a supplement to it?

If I had gone for the former- which I very nearly did a few times- I would have ended up with either the iPad Air or the iPad Pro; I found that the 12.9-inch was a good size to use as a computer but was just too big to work for me as a tablet, but the 11-inch iPad Pro and similar 10.9-inch iPad Air were just the right size to do both.

But ultimately, I decided that the M1 MacBook Air was the better choice for most of my computing needs. So where did that leave the iPad? While I found that I did most of my writing, web-surfing, and even media consumption on the MacBook, the iPad still found a lot of use in editing my photography or drawing or making hand-written…

--

--