The iPhone 12 mini is Just Right

Not too big, and not way too big.

Joshua Beck
11 min readNov 16, 2020

Ok, I get that it isn’t the perfect “Goldilocks” reference; after all, the eponymous heroine tended to choose the thing that wasn’t too big or too small. And the iPhone 12 mini is definitely small. But for me, small is just right.

Ok, so I really did start off this review with the ending, so let’s backtrack. For the last few years, all of my iPhones have had one thing in common- big screens. The last time I had a small screen was on my iPhone 5s (and briefly on the similar iPhone SE); since those glorious days, I’ve only had the plus-sized devices (6, 6s, and 7 Plus, to be exact) or the all-screen wonders that are current fashion (XR and 11). And I remember when I got my 6 Plus- it was a massive leap forward for me from my diminutive 5s. I suddenly had a pocketable tablet, which I lovingly referred to as my “iPad Mini Mini”.

But I never stopped missing the iPhone 5s. Despite my love for a larger screen, I missed how pocketable the 5s was. I missed the flat edges that made it easier to grip rather than the rounded sides that have plagued us for years now. I missed that I was able to hold the device in one hand and could reach all four corners of the screen with my thumb.

When Apple announced the iPhone 12- specifically that it was bringing back the flat…

--

--