Should You Wait for the Next iPad?

As rumors spread of the imminent arrival of new iPads, should you really wait to buy one?

Joshua Beck
4 min readApr 8, 2021

Sitting with my iPad mini- which despite being new to me is now two years old- I couldn’t help but wonder whether I should hold on to it or wait for Apple to release the oft-rumored 2021 model. Certainly, the idea that it could have a thinner bezel, mini-LED screen, and more modern design (or, you know, not, according to some recent rumors) was enticing. Not to mention that any new iPad mini would likely feature the A14 processor rather than the aging A12. Oops… I mentioned it.

But the more I thought about it, the more a singular question popped into my head: why wait?

I use my iPad mini every day, and despite the thicker bezel and older processor, I have never once had an issue with the device. In fact, I’ve loved using it. It has become one of my most important everyday tools. Sure, I might want the fancy, newer gadget (when/if it ever comes out), but do I need it? Hell no.

I see countless articles and YouTube videos telling people not to buy a current-gen iPad right now. But I can’t help wonder if this is actually good advice. I mean, if you want an iPad right now, if you need an iPad right now, what is the benefit of waiting for an undetermined amount of…

--

--