Reviewing the Only Part of Tenet I’ve Experienced: Ludwig Göransson’s Music

I haven’t seen Tenet, but I have listened to it.

Joshua Beck
5 min readSep 9, 2020

I write a lot of reviews. Movie reviews, TV show reviews, even tech reviews. I’ve eve talked at length about certain books that I love- like Harry Potter. But I’ve never given a movie soundtrack it’s own review.

Of course, I love movie scores. For the longest time, that was the only music I listened to. The works of John Williams, Danny Elfman, and Hans Zimmer filled my old iPod’s memory capacity.

And I’ve, of course, spoken about film score in nearly every movie review I’ve written; after all, music can make or break a movie. Often times, I will get to listen to the score before seeing the movie; sometimes the album gets released a week or two in advance, or I just can’t make it to the theaters on opening day. More often than not, I end up loving the soundtrack more after I’ve seen the flick- as music can make the movie, the movie also influences my feelings towards the soundtrack. For example, Alan Silvestri’s “Portals” was a great use of his iconic Avengers theme before I saw Endgame, but after I left the theater the song was stuck in my head because of the epic scene it was attached to.

--

--