Jonathan Frakes: A Poem

Joshua Beck
2 min readAug 20, 2017

Today is Jonathan Frakes’ birthday. In honor of the ageing of one of television’s most prolific actor/directors (he’s probably directed an episode of your favorite show without your knowledge), I wrote a poem, as I sat in the drive-thru at Wendy’s one midsummer’s eve. This eve, in fact.

And, of course, if I wrote it, that means I’ll share it, won’t I? I will (Wheaton).

When leaves fall in his yard, Jonathan Frakes rakes;

When he wants a cake, Jonathan Frakes bakes;

When a car stops in front of him, Jonathan Frakes brakes;

When he works hard, Jonathan Frakes aches;

When his alarm goes off, Jonathan Frakes wakes;

When someone extends their hand, Jonathan Frakes shakes.

Does Jonathan Frakes like snakes?

Does Jonathan Frakes swim in lakes?

Jonathan Frakes eats Frosted Flakes;

What is the favorite food of Jonathan Frakes? Steaks.

What is the favorite desert of Jonathan Frakes? Muffins.

Commander Riker, we love ya, and we wish you the happiest of birthdays. Live long and prosper and whatnot.

Next, I’ll have to come up with something for his equally famous William Riker… “If he rode a motorcycle, Commander Riker would be a biker…” No……..

Addendum:

My uncle, Rick Beck, concocted a response to my poem, which I feel must be shared, as it is far superior to what I wrote.

Ahem.

But if Jonathan Frakes was to bake some cakes and the cakes he makes were all mistakes, he might get a case of the shakes from making all those cake outtakes. Forcing him to buy some cakes he fakes. To shake the shakes from his cake mistakes, for goodness sakes!!!

Fin.

--

--