It’s About Time: A Doctor Who- The Woman Who Fell to Earth Review

Joshua Beck
16 min readOct 9, 2018

I’ve been watching Doctor Who for a long time now; it started when I caught a Sci-Fi Channel marathon (back when it was still called “Sci-Fi” and not Syfy) of Christopher Eccleston’s entire series one day back in 2007.

And after I watched him regenerate, I honestly thought that was all I’d need to watch. I wasn’t familiar with the concept of “regeneration,” and I didn’t want to see anyone replace him- how could anyone be as good as Eccleston?

Of course, by the time I watched Eccleston’s run, David Tennant had been playing the role for a couple years. And after a week or two, I caved. I gave Tennant a shot.

And then when Tennant left, I gave Matt Smith a shot, and same for Peter Capaldi when he replaced Smith. Each time a Doctor was departing, I felt that there was no way anyone could follow them up properly, and each time I was mistaken. I know everyone is a Tennant fan- so am I- but Smith and Capaldi easily tied as my favorite Doctors (check out my review of Capaldi’s run here, and a look at how his run as the Doctor was all about remembering here).

--

--