Double the Fun, or Double the Trouble? My Time with Microsoft’s Surface Duo

I can’t say that it’s worth $1,400… but is it worth $400?

Joshua Beck
14 min readAug 13, 2021
Surface Duo’s duo screens, artistically shot. Image by Author.

Reader, something remarkable has happened: the Surface Duo has dramatically dropped in price.

Ok… let me backtrack a bit.

When Microsoft first announced the Surface Duo and Surface Neo, I knew one thing: I wanted them both. Despite my preference for Apple devices- or at least my preference to use Google’s own hardware whenever I ventured into Android territory- I wanted them. I thought the Neo would replace my iPad. And the Duo… well, I didn’t know exactly what I wanted it to do.

And while my dreams of owning the Surface Neo are still just that since it was never released, my interest in the Surface Duo was quickly dashed once it actually hit the shelves. Reviewers seemed to make two things abundantly clear from the get-go: very few people should use it as their phone, and no one should buy it at its launch price. It was plagued by software bugs, it was running on a Snapdragon from yesteryear, and even the reviewers that liked the device got hung up on the $1,400 price tag. Reluctantly, I let the Duo go and moved on to other things. You can read the many reviews of those other things here on Medium.

--

--