Doing Nothing Often Leads to the Very Best Something: A Christopher Robin Review

Joshua Beck
6 min readMar 6, 2019

I grew up watching Winnie the Pooh; specifically, The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh. Pooh Bear was as much a part of my childhood as my own teddy bear.

So when I saw the first trailer for Christopher Robin, I knew I had to see it, if nothing else than for the nostalgia of it; after all, Pooh had never been given the live action treatment like so many other cartoon characters (and frankly, Disney’s attempt looked way better than Garfield: The Movie).

I was expecting a good movie, aptly filled with nostalgia and childhood memories. I wasn’t expecting anything particularly mind-blowing, which is why, probably, I opted to skip it in theaters, and why I waited further for it to be available on Netflix, which it is as of yesterday.

What I wasn’t expecting was a thought-provoking look at our lives as adults, and a lesson to be learned. Silly old bear.

What if Christopher Robin Grew Up?

If you need a description of what the film is about, think of it as Hook in the Hundred Acre Woods. And had I known that, I probably would…

--

--