Battle Royale (with Cheese): M2 MacBook Air Vs. M1 MacBook Air

Old and busted or new hotness?

Joshua Beck
30 min readJul 22, 2022
M1 move over… it’s time for the M2. Image by Author.

The M1 MacBook Air has been my daily driver since the day it came out. I spent most of 2020 looking for a new computer, trying everything from MacBooks to Windows laptops to Chromebooks, but nothing seemed to quite fit what I wanted… until the M1 Mac came out.

It was fast, it had excellent battery life, and it had enough power to get me through my daily needs. And most importantly, it had no fan. Whew.

Over the last year and a half, the M1 MacBook Air has been my constant companion. Yes, I’ve still tried other computers (and wrote about them here), but they were always being considered as a companion to my Mac rather than a replacement; I never wanted to stop using my MacBook as my main computer, but I wanted a secondary device around in case my Mac got damaged (since I neglected to buy Apple Care when I got it) or if I just wanted a change of digital scenery for a bit. But despite all of the devices that I’ve tried, I’ve not found a single computer that ever made me want to get rid of the M1 MacBook Air.

But today, after what feels like months of waiting (it’s really only been a month and change since it was announced), I’m finally holding what I fully expect to be my M1 MacBook Air’s successor.

--

--